The Dangers of Catholic Academia

I am no theologian.  Ok, maybe I am a pint-sized philosopher/ mystic wannabe whose idea of fun is reading Aquinas’ Summa Theologica for dinner and Fulton Sheen’s Life of Christ for dessert.  But when it comes to my spirituality, the best I can get are the scraps that fall off the table of well-studied Catholic folk like Mark Shea, Father Robert Barron and Scott Hahn.  The point is, my soul craves doctrinal sustenance, intellectual stimulation that bends my mind towards He Who is True and Holy.

On the other hand, my heart is a missionary.  And like the many saints who have gone before me in mission, I contemplate often whether my intellectual feasts (even if they are mere scraps) are worth my time and effort.  Should not my study be replaced with service?  Would that not satiate God’s thirst for justice and peace more than my reading binges?

And so I, like many of my fellow Catholic bloggers, have a dilemma.  My mind requires intellectual stimulation but my heart burns with an intense desire to do.  There isn’t enough time in the day for both.  How does one find balance?

Leave a Reply

